Wrong list order + UI design degradation.

Today we have an item that combines both “wrong order” and “got worse” keywords. Without further ado:

I'll just add my include files here.

I'll just add my include files here.

This is Visual Studio’s 2005 VC++ Directories dialog. Most commonly it is used to add some custom folders for include and library files. I don’t think I ever used the “Executable Files” section (but I have only been working as a software engineer for 10 years, I’m sure I’ll need it some day), and yet it shows up first in the list. An untold number of time was I quite puzzled why on Earth it wouldn’t know where to look for an include file even though I’ve just added to the Include folders list!

Visual Studio 6 had it better as it defaulted to the Include files folder:

Include files folder by default.

Include files folder by default.

Leave a Reply

